Top Ten Wednesday: Authors I Discovered in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday belongs to The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s prompt asks us for the best authors that we read for the first time in 2016. In no particular order, here are mine.

  1. Gillian Bradshaw
    I read Bradshaw’s The Beacon at Alexandria, the story of a young woman growing up in the fourth century of the common era who yearns to be a doctor. Reading that book, which, sadly, appears to be out of print, opened my eyes to the rest of Bradshaw’s impressive oeuvre of historical fiction. Next up? I think The Sand-Reckoner, a fictional take on the life of Archimedes.
  2. Ellis Peters
    There’s nothing like a good series, especially a good mystery series. I’d been feeling a lack of one to follow for quite some time, until I read the first book in the Brother Cadfael series, A Morbid Taste for Bones (mentioned in my post on crime-solving clergy) – and just like that, problem solved.
  3. Charlie Jane Anders
    I read Anders’ short story Six Months, Three Days online for free and it did just what it was supposed to – made me interested in trying out more of her work! Next, I’d like to read her novel All the Birds in the Sky, which is sold as a cross between science fiction and fantasy, my two great loves.
  4. Zen Cho
    I read Sorcerer to the Crown in February and I am eagerly awaiting its sequel. In the meantime, I have the novella The Perilous Life of Jade Yeo to tide me over.
  5. Barbara Vine
    Although I enjoyed reading A Dark-Adapted Eye when I was in Colorado this year, something about it didn’t click with me until I realized that Vine’s books were more works of suspense than mystery. Now her A Fatal Inversion is on my list.
  6. Shirley Jackson
    After reading “The Lottery” in middle school (I know, what were they thinking?), I took a fourteen year break from Shirley Jackson. Although I was a bit nervous about picking up a “horror” novel, We Have Always Lived in the Castle‘s masterful writing and characterization (with a good helping of suspense!) struck just the right note with me.
  7. Randy Shilts
    Shilts’ And the Band Played On, a history of the AIDS epidemic in the 1970s and 1980s, was my favorite nonfiction read of 2016. He’s also published a biography of Harvey Milk and a history of gay and lesbian soldiers. If he tells their stories as well as he did in And the Band Played On, they are more than worth reading.
  8. Amy Stewart
    Normally, I couldn’t care less about the Roaring Twenties. But  Girl Waits with Gun, where the protagonist is the one of the first women to become a sheriff’s deputy in the United States, is an exception. Luckily, Stewart written a sequel, Lady Cop Makes Trouble.
  9. Mary Stewart
    For our second author named Stewart, Nine Coaches Waiting was an excellent example of modern Gothic suspense – next time you’re in a Gothic mood, check her out!
  10. Daniel José Older
    I read Half-Resurrection Blues, the first book in the Bone Street Rumba trilogy, and I really wish it had been longer. Luckily, the sequel (Midnight Taxi Tango) is already out – and focusing on a minor character who I really wanted more of! The final book is expected to be out in 2017, so don’t be left out, fantasy fans! Catch up on this trilogy soon
3 thoughts on “Top Ten Wednesday: Authors I Discovered in 2016

  1. What a fantastic list! I am also a fan of Mary Stewart and have read a few by her this year. Have you checked out her Arthurian trilogy, starting with The Crystal Cave? They are very different from her gothic romances like Nine Coaches Waiting, but are fantastic!

    Like

  2. […] Most Underrated (in My Opinion): Six Months, Three Days, by Charlie Jane Anders (The link above sends you directly to the story, which is available for free online.) I determined the most underrated and most overrated works by comparing my own Goodreads rating to the average. This story won the 2012 Hugo for Best Novelette (a work between 7,500 and 17,500 words), so I’m clearly not the only one who thinks it’s a five-star read. However, the average rating on Goodreads is just 3.66. Part of me wonders if the ratings were affected by the Hugo kerfuffle that’s occurred the past few years. Or perhaps, it spoke to me more than others. Whichever is the case, this story is short enough and easy enough to obtain, that I think you need to give it a shot – it’s the story of two people who can see the future and how it affects their everyday lives. I found it moving and thought-provoking; Anders is now on my list of authors to read more of this year. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

